Chunky Sweater Staple

DSC_3219

Tobi Serenity Knit Cardigan $38 Charlotte Russe Floral Peplum Blouse $10 (Tobi similar) | Levi’s 535 Jeggings $40 | Forever 21 Dimple Tiered Bib Necklace $10 (F21 similar) | Target Susan Heeled Booties in Wine $35 

Man oh man is this cardigan SOFT. And warm. I could literally nest into hibernation in this. Now that it’s taken until mid-November for rain to trickle in and temperatures to drop, this sweater is so perfect that you’ll have to roll it off in my sleep in order for me to part with it. Every woman should have at least one chunky sweater in her closet. They go with Fall like Pumpkin Spice Lattes and Uggs. Since these sweaters are so warm, layers underneath can be flexible – for example, I combined this look with a summery top and some booties.

DSC_3213For this look, I wanted to accomplish comfort over fashion. I chose a boxy peplum top and jeggings to pair with the cardigan. With neutrals dressed all around, the “statement” piece could be any patterned blouse to add pops of color and to break up the monotony of solid colors. I also threw in a gold statement necklace to bring forward the floral blouse, which can get buried under this sweater against my petite frame (same necklace + top combo originally featured as a Summer look). For a staple chunky sweater (if you only had to have one), I suggest a neutral color so that you have this flexibility when styling various looks.

Everyone has their set of unwarranted excess of guilty purchases. For me, it’s oversized sweaters/cardigans – call it symbolism for a security blanket, but I absolutely love cozying up and getting lost in them. Even though some sweaters aren’t petite-friendly, I don’t care. Living in California, there’s no need for large Winter coats; sometimes a long-sleeve under a chunky cardigan suffices for Winter wear. I own all sorts in some crazy designs like Aztec and heart-shaped patterns, which I’m sure I’ll bring to light in this blog sometime soon.

DSC_3222
DSC_3305

DSC_1696_1 Headshot

I’d love to hear some of your guilty pleasures, whether it be shoes, purses, or chunky sweaters/cardigans like me!

3 thoughts on “Chunky Sweater Staple

  1. Pingback: Layer Up – C’est La Mode! | Simple Accents

Leave a comment